Skip to content

Red Headed Ladies

December 2, 2011

So, onwards and upwards. The search continues. What had begun as a search for financing has turned into a way more personal journey. I mean, what the hell am I doing selling my eggs? Who do I think I am to ask for the highest price? Do I even want to do this anymore? 

I connected with a woman on line who was extremely eager to start the process. I did not speak with her on the phone. Instead I went straight to the clinic where I could fill out the donor questionnaire there and then hand it in right away. After I finished filling it out I handed it to the nurse who looked me up and down quizzically.

“She wants you to be her egg donor?” She asked me.

“Um, yes..”

“She said she saw your pictures and that you look like her, but you don’t”

That’s rather blunt, I was thinking. 

“Oh really? What does she look like?”

“Well, she’s a bigger lady with curly red hair. You don’t look a thing alike.”

I left the clinic feeling weird. Okay, is it really for the nurse to judge who this lady chooses as her egg donor? The Red Headed Lady did sound…well, desperate isn’t quite the word I would use, but she was extremely eager to get started. Maybe once you’ve spent over a year, two, three years trying to conceive you’ll just take anyone. Kind of like a bargain basement shopper or something, you’ll take what you can get because at least then you’re actually getting something. What is it about us humans that makes us feel the need to procreate ourselves. I spoke with a male friend of mine who expressed that he just wanted to have his own baby. Certainly the couples that I’ve talked to have all wanted to conceive “their own kid”. Apparently 1 out of 6 couples in the world struggle with infertility. It boggles the mind that medical advances have offered these people many options today. In the past they would have just left it to God no? I don’t see God factoring highly into reproductive medicine at all. Or is it that technology has taken the place of God? Thoughts?Image

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Cat permalink
    January 6, 2012 8:11 pm

    Where have you been posting ads? And where is this clinic? I was considering donation for they money to pay for school but I don’t want to end up in a bath tub with my organs missing…

    Thanks!

    • January 11, 2012 6:28 pm

      bathtub with missing organs highly undesirable. i most recently posted on a site called http://www.opts.com (The Organization of Parents Through Surrogacy) and have gotten quite a response. You can also look on craigslist for people looking for donors. Once in touch with a couple online they should put you in contact with the fertility clinic that they are working with. You can keep your contact with the couple anonymous at this time- you have rights- they can’t force you to meet them. I would google the clinic to make sure that it is reputable. There are a few in Toronto that I know of. If you have any questions let me know. I would love to hear about your journey and if you’re interested in being a guest blogger let me know.
      Claire

Leave a Reply

