Skip to content

Journal Entry #3

November 2, 2011

So these journal entries are from when I was considering donating again earlier this year. What better way to finance my play about egg donation than by donating again…

April 18, 2011
Yup. So I’ve been thinking about Lynn or whatever. I don’t think I’m going to do it with her. She just sounds too boring and miserable. Did I just say that? I mean, she’s probably really nervous and everything but, and I know this is judgmental but I don’t want to give my egg to some boring couple from woodbridge. (this is all uncensored free thought). So yeah. But how does one creak up with Laurel? Dear Lauren, after many hours of deliberation I have decided that it would be against my better judgement to sell you my dna and life matter. Sincerely Claire Burns. Ps. Please do come and see my show in 2012. Jesus. What the fuck. In twenty years what is this whole baby industry going to look like. I mean, Lannie was willing to pay for a mentally sane designer type baby. I mean, they were so concerned with seeing pictures of me. My body, my face. I guess that’s normal of course but I don’t know. It seems a bit shallow to me. Maybe they just want to make sure that i look enough like them- does that inherently mean that they aren’t planning on telling the kid how he was made? Does this mean I’m getting cold feet? I don’t think so, this is just a continually evolving analytical process for me in a way. I mean, it’s more than analytical clearly because it involves such substance: Life. Is it really any different than selling anything else? I mean, I guess I first think of prostitution, but even prostitution is just a trade, selling a ware. What confuses me is the fact that the government has made paying for the ware itself illegal. Even though the buyer is paying for the hotel room so to speak (the IVF treatment goes for $20,000 a pop. And in Quebec couples are paying the government for the hotel room no less.

So yeah. L. Hopefully one burns bridges gently. That is the wish.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

