Skip to content

Damn its hard

October 12, 2011

Hey. So, it’s hard to produce a play in Canada. Sometimes I feel stilted. stunted. and sometimes I just feel like I want to give up. But this is not happening. Because people out there need to be more aware of the seedy underbelly surrounding egg donation in Canada. So I persevere.

The biggest problem of course is trying to find money for such things.

Initially I thought that I would donate my eggs again. It’s been seven years since I last did it. I got $4000 for my services then, and apparently now I could get upwards of $10000! that’s at LEAST half the budget for the play.

I wanted to do it differently this time though- I actually wanted to interview the recipients to see if they were…worthy…i guess. Here are some of my thoughts about a particular couple.

 

April 11, 2011

 

So. I’m going through with this again. I’m with my parents right now. But I feel like I can’t tell them about it. I guess something is sticking in my craw regarding privacy. I don’t know. It’s a private act. I guess. I don’t really want them to tell me that I can’t do it. I mean, in a way they do have a stake in the matter since that officially they could be grandparents. But I think that they’re most worried about whether or not I will be able to have kids of my own one day.

-Should I freeze some embryos this time through?

-How much would a storage fee cost?

 

I am presently waiting for a call from Laura, a recipient. She’s a teacher and her husband is in IT. I’m nervous to talk to her. I’m not sure what she wants to say, what I should say. But I do know that with this process I am going to try to be as completely honest as possible. As an experiment. So that means, filling out medical questionnaires to the most honest ability. I should be honest about that sort of thing. I want to be really informed going through with the process this time. Last time I was like an old blind moose, stumbling around in the dark on the highway or something. Okay. Perhaps not that dramatic, but my gyst. (Jist? Jyst? Jyzz?) is there.

-Be honest about everything (except apparently my dealings with my parents.)

 

This is a financial transaction. This is a way to make a family. This is a form of prostitution. This is how you put on a play. Speak the truth.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

